The Contemplative Life

Finding God in family, work, reading and relationships

Religion AND Jesus

'Church window' photo (c) 2010, Andrew Malone - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

I haven’t bothered to watch the video, but there has been a goodly amount of push-back.  Which is awesomest when it comes from the more “alternative” voices of the church.

So…I believe in Religion AND Jesus.  I believe in the Gospel.  I believe in the transformative, knock you on your ass truth of what God has done in Christ.  I believe that I can only know what this following Jesus thing is about when I learn it from people I would never choose out of a catalog when we all gather together as the broken and blessed Body of Christ around the Eucharistic meal.  I believe that I am the problem at least as often as I am the solution. I believe in participating in sacred traditions that have a whole lot more integrity than anything I could come up with myself.  I believe I need someone else to proclaim the forgiveness of sins to me because I cannot create that for myself.  I believe that Jesus is truly present in the breaking of the bread and that where 2 or more are gathered he is there.   That’s religion AND Jesus.  May God make us worthy of it all.

Nadia Bolz Weber

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

